Skip to content

Somebody, pinch me

More things like this need to happen in the world:

Luzinterruptus, Literature Versus Traffic, NYC

Luzinterruptus, Literature Versus Traffic, NYC

Luzinterruptus, Literature Versus Traffic, NYC

Luzinterruptus is an art collaborative from Madrid trying their hand in New York City. In the city of lights, their light-based street art twinkles like it belongs. In this piece, there are 800 books all lit with book lights “with the intention of replacing traffic with literature.” I prefer a five o’clock page turner over five o’clock traffic anytime.

I would like to think that being in a street art collective would be like being on a team for a heist, but instead of stealing something, you deface public property (or in this case lay books on it). But you’re defacing with a message or a moral, so it’s O.K., right? “Ocean’s Eleven,” and “Gone in 60 Seconds,” have taught me that heists are hard work. I would assume the same planning, strategy and execution goes into a massive piece like this and it’s all very exciting. If anyone wants to start a street team, let me know and we will come up with our code names.

Again, I found these images/info at Unurth.com. Also, check out the Luzinterruptus blog. (It’s in Spanish, but si usted no habla español, the pictures are still pretty.)

