Skip to content

Somebody, pinch me

I find a new reason to love this video every time I watch it. Chris Milk directed Gnarls Barkely’s “Who’s Gonna Save My Soul,” and while I admittedly don’t watch MTV or Vh1, for some reason or another (fate perhaps?) I came across this one.

First of all, I love this song. I feel like this old R&B feel is coming back and I’m loving it. As bizarre (and painfully literal) as the concept is for the video, it still has an old vibe to it. Second, the dialogue hits home. We’ve all been one on side of that table.

After this video, I came across his Chris Milk’s “Last Day Dream” and that sealed the deal. Even though he has directed music videos for some major clients like Gnarls Barkley, Kanye West, Modest Mouse and Audioslave, this 42 second film is my favorite thing he’s done. I revisit it often.

“Last Day Dream” is a series of blinks into a guy’s life from birth to death. The film was produced for the 42 Second Dream Film Festival in Beijing in 2009.

Beyond the obvious “We’re all going to die one day” message, it’s even more unnerving that we all (all being the typical Americans) have very similar bullet points in our life. How different would all of our abridged biographies be?

*Milk’s work, photography and videos, can be found here.

