Skip to content

Somebody, pinch me

Today I was reminded of one of the worst movies I’ve ever seen: Mars Attacks!

This had to be some kind of Hollywood joke, right?. But look at the impressive cast list:

Jack Nicholson (as President of the United States, I might add. God save us all.)

Glenn Close

Annette Bening

Pierce Bronsan

Danny DeVito

Martin Short

Sarah Jessica Parker

Michael J. Fox

Rob Steiger

Natalie Portman

Pam Grier

Christina Applegate

Jack Black

and numerous other people you might recognize by face. And Tim Burton directed it!

Either the American public was being punked, or this is one of those movies that’s so bad it has to be good. I think the intent was the latter, but when I saw it (at the critical age of 7) with my family at a drive-in theater, no one was very pleased. Looking at the trailer, I want to see it again just  to make sure I’m not missing something. Is Mars Attacks! supposed to be the The Blob of the 90s?

I’m strangely enticed now to find out what the hell is up with this. Pierce Bronson always has a pipe, SJP’s head is put on a chihuahua and someone thought Jack Nicholson should be President. Sounds funny, but I never got the punchline. I have to give Mars Attacks! one more chance.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

